Susan Phillips – 1971 – Soft Sexy Soul

One of the most elusive Soul LP’s of all time, a truly Holy Grail album. Few copies have ever surfaced, it is so rare that many collectors doubt if it was ever released. Recorded for Sylvia Robinson’s All Platinum label 1971, pressed in small quantities.The album has that classic early 70’s New Jersey Orchestrated Soul sound.

The album contains the in demand 2-step single ‘He Knows My Key’ (is always in the Mailbox), the Northern Soul floater ‘Answer To My Prayer‘, Detroit sounding ‘Please Don’t Keep Me Lonely‘ the multi paced ‘Where Do I Go From Here‘ and many great ballads like He’s Gone and This I’ll Guarantee.

A1 He’s Gone 2:23
A2 Answer to a Prayer 3:01
A3 Please Don’t Keep Me Lonely 3:30
A4 Where Do I Go From Here 3:37
A5 That’s What I’ll Do 2:58
B1 He Knows My Key (Is Always in the Mailbox) 2:35
B2 Just How Long 2:35
B3 This I’ll Guarantee 3:17
B4 Goodbye My Love 3:08

An appropriately titled set from Susan Phillips – an overlooked bit of slinky female soul that we’d rank right up there with All-Platinum early 70s releases by Sylvia and Eleanor Mills!

Few copies have ever surfaced, it is so rare that many collectors doubt if it was ever released, it is not listed on Discogs and it has never been recorded as selling on EBay. If an original copy were found today, it would surely sell for a substantial amount of money.

The production is a wonderful mix of stripped down grooves with just the right amount of sweet strings and horns – creating just a gentle sort of New Jersey soul style that really works well with Phillips’ vocals. 

Soul Brother Record released it for Record Store Day 2017

Related Post

Upcoming Events

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Scroll Up